The weather was looking good for a workable mass ascension this morning, so I decided to leave a bit early and get some pictures on the way to my NMTS ride.

01-DSCN1865
After a unusually large dawn patrol, this is the first wave.  The wind was pushing them to the north and west.

02-DSCN1869
Under mottled cloud cover and chilly morning air, I rode up Tramway stopping from time to time to get pictures.

03-DSCN1874
Although I was on the “bad” side of the lighting, I was able to get a few good silhouettes.

04-DSCN1887
The higher air was moving northwest and the low, ground air was moving back south.

05-DSCN1893
Many of the newer balloons are based on this retro design.

06-DSCN1898
Balloon and cloud broken sky.

07-DSCN1901
Colorful

08-DSCN1907
Being on a bike, the cops didn’t chase me away from my excellent vantage point on the south side of Tramway.

09-DSCN1908
The sun pokes through to illuminate perfectly.

10-DSCN1914
Looking in the opposite direction, I spotted this!

11-DSCN1917
Ron, at 225 lbs and loves to lead, he sets an excellent pace.  I stayed 2 lengths back out of the draft to ensure my times were ‘real’.  The turnout was only 4 riders and the two of us took the lead.  Finish line was Triangle Grocery and a cup of rice pudding.

 

